An Image (or Three) from Psalm 8

An Image (or Three) from Psalm 8

I think the main reason I like watercolors so much is that they’re not messy, I said to myself half an hour before splattering everything on my desk with watercolor “stars”. Ha ha. Good one. I even managed to get paint on my wall. So I guess cleanliness not the reason I like them. I must say though, ever since I received a pack of watercolor pencils a month and a half ago, most of my artwork has been in watercolors of some sort. And as an artist who spent years working in gray scale, this shift to color is strange and challenging.

Ok. End of lecture. Now on to the artwork.

Last night I recreated a piece I’ve done twice before. The first time, I drew it with oil pastels, the second time I painted it in acrylics. The original was based off Psalm 8:3-4.

When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars
which you have set in place,

what is man that you are mindful of him,
the son of man that you care for him? (NIV)

I tried to capture a bit of these feelings of wonder and smallness in these pieces.

I drew the first picture during my sophomore year of college, and almost as soon as I finished it, I knew I wanted to redo it as painting. Schoolwork hindered that project, and I wasn’t able to attempt it until this past summer, when I took lessons in acrylic painting from a friend. I thought I’d be done with this image when I finished the acrylic painting, but I guess this concept is going to stick around for a while.

img_20160910_091907013

The most recent version (shown above) is much brighter than the other two, and I really like that. Typically I use round brushes, but I thought I’d try large, flat brushes for this piece. The sun went all wonky, but the moon of the pink and purple planet turned out great, so they balance each other out.  I definitely could have spent more time adding layers to the painting, so maybe next time I’ll start earlier in the day so it’s not 1 a.m. when I finish…

 

Leave a Reply

