Learning from Art Slumps

Learning from Art Slumps

Just a heads up: I’m going to ramble for a bit…

So I’ve been in a bit of an art slump lately. You know, comparing my work to that of others, not really knowing what to draw, not feeling like drawing because I’m not as skilled as I’d like to be. And as a result, I haven’t finished many art projects in the past week.

I’m working out of the slump now, and quite honestly, I think the slump has been really good for me. I was able to reevaluate my strengths and weaknesses and decide where to go from here.

Here are a few of the things I learned and/or relearned this past week.

  • I don’t have a lot of experience, so I need to be patient with myself. I’ve been drawing for a long time, but I only just started painting with acrylics and watercolors, I’ve only just started using inks and markers.
  • It’s ok to not be good at something. I’m at a stage in my art where I have a lot of basics, but I don’t know many theories or techniques. Learning those techniques and theories may not be easy (or fun, even), and as I practice, things won’t always turn out they way I wanted. I won’t be an expert after trying something once.
  • I can always look to other artist for help. I tend to try to figure things out on my own. That’s not a bad thing. But if I’m stuck, I can always look up tutorials and tips to see how other artist draw a particular subject or use a particular medium. This past week I watched dozens of YouTube videos of various artist using everything from markers to watercolors to charcoals, and just watching them work helped me pick up new techniques and ideas.

That’s the majority of it. Or rather, that’s about all I can remember at the moment.

So there’s that. And if you want to see the piece that resulted from the slump, you can find that and my thoughts about it here.

 

 

One thought on “Learning from Art Slumps

Leave a Reply

