Captain Amelia… Learning through Copying

Captain Amelia… Learning through Copying

Captain Amelia from “Treasure Planet” is my favorite Disney character. I love her style, and her confidence. I actually finished this over a week ago, but this past week was so full I didn’t have time to post it. So here it is.

I’ve learning more about line work and shading lately (I don’t even know how many YouTube videos I’ve watched about techniques and styles), and I wanted to work with a img_20161001_200157119outline that I could copy so I could focus on perfecting details. Usually I get bogged down with perspective or proportion or stance, and I wanted to avoid that.

I’m quite pleased with the end result. I used some shading techniques that I picked up from a video by Mark Crilley (you can find it here)–holding my pencil  near the eraser end and using a circular motion when shading to help keep the strokes light and even.

My one regret is that I drew her too large for the paper, and I didn’t have enough space for her feet. Ah, well.

 

Leave a Reply

