“Tsimeh”

“Tsimeh”

I’ve been getting ready for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) which is coming up in November, so I haven’t had as much time to draw lately. After two weeks, though, I remembered that drawing is just a part of my life, and I can’t just not do it. It’s not that simple.

So, because I need to keep preparing for NaNo, I’m figuring out clothing styles and drawing some of my characters. This is Tsimeh, one of my minor characters.

img_20161022_224103594

I always have trouble drawing major characters, because when I write from their perspective, I imagine watching the events from over their shoulder and I rarely am able to picture their faces. Minor characters tend to be a bit easier. She didn’t turn out quite as I expected, but it’s not far off.

I wanted to try a new style of art as well, so I ventured into the realm of inks and markers and multi-media art. I’m not at all comfortable with fineliners. I only just started working with markers. I struggle with colors and color theory. Basically this entire piece was out of my comfort zone. But hey, it’s good to stretch myself, right?

I used Prismacolor colored pencils to add extra details and shading.

I definitely want to work more with this style. It’s not my favorite to work with, but I think I’ll like it more as I grow more confident.

Her hands are too small. And they aren’t quite positioned correctly. But other than that, I’m happy with the pose. I wanted to add more detail to her jacket, but I couldn’t figure out what I was doing with it. I love doing costume design, but sometimes it’s ridiculously hard for me.

So anyway.

It’s probable that from now through November I’ll be drawing more writing-related pictures. They’ll be few and far between, but (to an extent) drawing helps me write. It also helps me procrastinate…

 

 

Leave a Reply

