“Cozy Nap”

“Cozy Nap”

I realize I haven’t been posting much lately. I have been drawing, but I haven’t had time to post on my blog. I may put those pictures up later. We’ll see. I do like them, I just have a big-ish project in the works which I hope to post about soon, so I’ll probably leave the others for now…

OK. Enough with the vague mumble-jumble. On to the inspiration for the drawing…

The weather is getting chilly. Yeah. OK. This is the south-eastern United States, and I don’t even need a jacket in the afternoon, but still. The weather is getting fall-ish. All the tiny creatures, and some of bigger ones too, are getting ready for a nice (although short) winter nap. And with the leaves changing colors and the nights growing cold, I, too, wish to curl up in a cozy nest until spring.

I do think there’s something to be said for paying attention to the seasons and, in a way, living according to them. That’s what I was mulling over as I draw this piece.

img_20161117_195559191

I drew this on 9″ x 12″ Strathmore Sketch paper and colored it with my Ohuhu alcohol-based markers. I outlined the picture with a Fine Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pen after I colored it, and I’m really happy with how it turned out. One of my brown markers started to dry out, so some of the tree bark is streaky, but overall, the colors are vibrant and the markers blend well.

I’m finally getting the hang of using alcohol-based markers and fine-liners. Over the past two weeks I’ve started to figure out where I want to go with my art with regards to style. Or at least, a little. I think… We’ll see, I guess 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

