The Crooked Pink House, Charleston, SC

The Crooked Pink House, Charleston, SC

I don’t have much experience drawing buildings. I guess I never really thought about it until I painted a village for a friend and discovered that perspective and lines are a heap more complicated than I imagined. In theory, I know how to draw architecture. In practice, not so much.

So, as I am pursuing a career in illustrating, I figured I ought to draw buildings. So I watched a bunch of YouTube videos on perspective (if you’re interested in checking those out, let me know, and I can send you a list of them) and I found a class on urban sketching on Skillshare, and voila! Here is my project for the class.

img_20161217_240238581

I’m really pleased with the outcome, and I even enjoyed the process. I love the style used in the class, and I think I’ll try to work more with it in the future. Eventually, I’d love to do 3-D buildings in a similar style.

 

Below, I included the sketch and line work. I used a lightbox (my new favorite art tool) so I could trace the sketch from my sketchbook onto watercolor paper.

img_20161216_214145153                             img_20161216_220841

One thought on “The Crooked Pink House, Charleston, SC

Leave a Reply

