Children’s Books and Conferences and Everything in Between (AKA a Quick Update)

Children’s Books and Conferences and Everything in Between (AKA a Quick Update)

The past two months have been filled with illustrations and people and opportunities. They have been wonderful and difficult, and my key phrase when talking about what I do is “right this minute…” because everything changes so fast.

So. Here is a quick overview of some of the things that happened over the past two months that have led up to what I am working on right this minute.

Character-A-Day

Shortly after my last blog post, I decided to develop some of my animal illustrations by drawing one of the characters every day and posting them on Instagram. I think I made it to day 40 before I missed one. Since then, I swing back and forth between being way ahead and way behind. Right this minute, I am slightly behind.

Three-Month Slump

Early in March, I hit the three-month mark in my endeavors as an illustrator, and I hit the three-month slump. I was discouraged and a bit lost as far as art and illustration was concerned.  Time to reevaluate and refocus.

March Writers’ and Illustrators’ Conference

At the end of March, I went to my first writers’ and illustrators’ conference. While the conference was small, the people were amazing and helpful, and… I’m going to another conference in August!

Right This Minute

My uncle’s book, Dora Visits Chloe, is my focus for the next month. My goal is to finish the illustrations by mid-May, and I feel good about that deadline so far.

Character-A-Day illustrations are less of a priority at the moment, but I hope to keep working on them now and again so that I don’t get too far behind.

I’m about to start the third draft of Granny Mouse Goes to Paris.

I’m working toward going to the conference hosted by the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) in Charlotte in August.

 

That’s about all for now.

I need to get schedule together for this blog so that I don’t go so long between posts…

Leave a Reply

