“A Melancholy Comfort”

I will be the first to admit I’ve gone far too long without posting. I am indeed sorry about that and have a proper update post in the works. In the mean time, I want to share “A Melancholy Comfort” with you.

I painted this at the end of May, but I had the general idea for it a couple of months before that. I was still working on the illustrations for my uncle’s book (more on that in the update post), but I hadn’t painted any of them yet, and I wasn’t sure how I wanted to go about it. I had an idea for a layered technique, but, having never tried it, I wasn’t sure if it would work.

So “A Melancholy Comfort” is a bit of an experimental piece for me–both in the limited color palate and in painting technique used.

A Melancholy Comfort - 5.29.2017.jpg

 

About the Process

Typically, instead of mixing colors before laying them on the paper, I’ll mix them directly on my painting. It’s definitely not the most precise method, but usually it works for me. I didn’t want that with this painting or with the illustrations for the book. I wanted to be able to see the hints of yellow behind the blue without the piece looking green. I wanted the blue to overlay the red without everything looking purple.

This was a huge breakthrough for me in working with watercolors, and I’m excited to see the shift in my painting style. I still mix colors on the paper, but I’m trying to be more patient with my work so I can build up the layers.

 

2 thoughts on ““A Melancholy Comfort”

  1. Katie, I love this piece. I see her head upside down as the whole painting with the cloud / balloon as the mouth. It feeds the melancholy feel. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

